Miracles Now: Gabrielle Bernstein

WHAT IS IT?

New York Times bestselling author, Gabrielle Bernstein, is back with a new book! Miracles Now is a collection of 108 handpicked tools for relieving stress, finding flow, and reconnecting with our inner power. As the title suggests, the concepts and processes discussed are aimed at creating instant shifts in perception, revolutionising the meaning of a spiritual practice.

WHAT’S IT LIKE?

What makes this book an enjoyable and easy read is that each process is no more than two pages in length. Many spiritual books leave me feeling daunted with their sheer volume of information,  so it was refreshing to read a chapter-less book with short pockets of inspiration. The style is perfectly in-keeping with the book’s aim of integrating spirituality into a fast-paced world.

Miracles Now essentially consists of three types of processes: spiritual concepts, Kundalini meditations, and practical exercises. These are focused around the 108 most common problems and emotional setbacks people face on a daily basis, ranging from worry and stress, to sleeplessness and addiction.

Happiness is a choice you make,” “face gossip with silence” and “see the tormentor as the mentor” are just a few of the spiritual gems, inspired by A Course In Miracles, that Gabby has carefully crafted into 140-character Miracle Messages, encouraging readers to spread the light by sharing them on Twitter and other social media sites.

gabbyquote

The Kundalini meditations come with pictures and extensive step-by-step instructions. Some of them are even linked to Gabrielle’s website with bonus music and videos, for the complete Spirit Junkie experience. However, what I enjoyed the most about Miracles Now were the practical exercises. They prompted me to stare at the tip of my nose to overcome worry, apply pressure at the back of my forearm to conquer stage fright, and even jump wildly in my living room to bust through the blocks.

MY EXPERIENCE

I read the entire book in 15-minute intervals on the journey to and from my university. What’s brilliant is that Miracles Now is intentionally geared towards the hectic schedules of modern life. Specifically on the look out for ways to simplify my spiritual practice and incorporate it into my busy routine, I was mostly drawn to the book’s practical exercises which I could apply during my commute.

I pray for you to have a blessed day” is one of my favourite processes in the book. Mentally blessing everyone around me through this affirmation, allows me to experience an instant sense of appreciation of – and Oneness – with all, which is something that I used to find very challenging when surrounded by strangers.

In “Peace begins with me,” Gabby suggests that we speak each word while gently pressing our thumb against the index, middle, ring, and pinkie fingers, respectively. This technique is primarily geared at releasing anger when people piss us off, but I use it whenever I feel any form of negative emotion. The distraction it offers, combined with the power of the words, work like magic to zap me back to inner peace.

gabrielle -bernstein-george-lizos

George (right) with Gabrielle Bernstein at Hay House‘s recent Ignite! event in London.

I’ve been dreaming for a meditation technique that I can use anywhere and at any time, and this is it! I use “Peace is in your pulse” whenever I need an instant boost of meditative bliss. I simply place four fingers on my wrist, feel for my pulse, and mentally chant the mantra Sat Nam – meaning ‘truth is my name’. This meditation provides the perfect blend of redirection from my everyday thought-clutter, in order to recalibrate my entire being back to love.

LASTING INSIGHTS

“The capacity of the mind will reach its optimum in order to deal with everyday life. The world will become smaller and smaller and smaller. So man’s vitality has to become larger and larger and larger.”

– Yogi Bhajan

In my opinion, Miracles Now is one of the first books to respond to our transition in the Aquarian Age. Our lives are getting faster and busier, while more and more people are awakening to spiritual truth. The paradigm shift we are currently undergoing has also created the need for a paradigm shift in the way we experience spirituality. With Miracles Now, Gabrielle Bernstein is at the forefront of a new spiritual era, urging us to break out of spiritual stereotypes, and become our own spiritual gurus.

In this new era, the democratisation of spiritual knowledge blurs the boundaries of teacher and student, so that miracles are no longer the domain of the few, but the unequivocal right of the many.

HOW CAN I TRY IT?

You can and buy the book through Hay House Publishing, and visit Gabrielle Bernstein’s website to find out more about her work.

George150About the author: George Lizos is a Self-Empowerment Coach teaching you how to turn obstacles into blessings. His work integrates a variety of spiritual modalities, including Angel therapy, Tarotmancy, Reiki and the Law of Attraction. To learn more about George visit his website and Facebook page.

EmailSignupBannerTrees

Add your thoughts

