Inner Space: London’s Oasis

washmachinenoborder

Source unknown.

WHAT IS IT?

Inner Space is a meditation and personal development centre based in Covent Garden, often referred to as ‘London’s oasis of calm and insight.’ They run regular courses, seminars and meditations around London and at their sister venue in Cambridge. The centres are funded by the charity Brahma Kumaris – an organisation dedicated to helping people all over the world develop their spiritual skills and understanding. The Covent Garden venue – where I visited – also boasts a bookshop and a ‘quiet room’ where guests can sit on one of six chairs facing a beautiful painting at the front of the room, and meditate.

WHAT’S IT LIKE?

It’s a wonderfully welcoming environment; the members of staff were friendly and helpful, and I found the ‘Creative Meditation’ I attended invigorating, calming and inspiring. The only downside of the session was its location, which was in a room below the bookshop, as the noises from upstairs and chilly air-conditioning (not exactly big criticisms!) were a little distracting.

It was also very much a ‘show up, meditate and leave’ arrangement, so if you’re looking for a place to connect with other meditators, this probably isn’t for you as everyone was basically gone within seven or eight minutes of the meditation ending. That said, the quiet room is incredible. It really is like a tiny oasis of calm in the middle of the city, and the perfect space for meditation. The atmosphere was full of positive vibes, and I’d highly recommend checking it out.

MY PROCESS

I really enjoyed the experience, and am glad I attended. Having said that, I’m not sure it’s exactly what I’m looking for in terms of group meditation at the moment. But I’m keeping an open mind and have signed up for a few more meditations to see if there are other sessions that work better for me.

WHY IS IT AWESOME?

Ok, so the biggest reason Inner Space is totally amazing and awesome is that all its discussions, lectures, and meditation classes are completely FREE! All you have to do is sign up via their website and provide your name, email and phone number. Super-cool, right?

As it’s only been a week since the meditation session I attended, it’s hard to say whether or not it’s had a huge impact on me yet. I already meditate daily, so I view the time I spent at Inner Space as more of a continuation and enrichment of my practice than a stand out, transformative experience. But it was certainly a positive experience, and I’m planning to go back.

HOW CAN I TRY IT?

Check out the Inner Space website for further info and upcoming dates.

Emily-headshot-1About the author: Founder of The Creativity Blog, Emily Snee is a writer, comedian & coach. She began her journey when she picked up ‘Conversations with God’ in 2010. Emily is dedicated to helping everyone release their fears and get creative! Follow her comedy career on Facebook & on Twitter for daily creativity tips.

EmailSignupBannerTrees

Add your thoughts

